Sydney Australia Chapter

Prayer a privilege - BRoME

03/01/2011 22:37

Watch ye therefore, and pray always, that ye may be accounted worthy to escape all these things that shall come to pass, and to stand before the Son of man.  Luke 21:36 (KJV)


Prayer is a gift.  It is free.  It is given to the believer for him to turn to.  And he can do this at any time.  But because it is free, sometimes we don't think much of it, and consequently, we fail to use it as much as we should.  Jesus advises us to "pray always".  The word "always" emphasizes this need to pray that it really means that our entire life and all our experiences are all dependent on prayer, on establishing this communication, and holding to it firmly.  Prayer is a gift, and it is also a privilege - being made sons of God.  But we fail  sometimes to think of prayer as a privilege.  As Harry Emerson Fosdick said:  Our failure to think of prayer as a privilege may be partly due to the fact that we can pray any time. The door to prayer is open so continuously that we fail to avail ourselves of an opportunity which is always there.

When I think of the word "privilege", I picture some kind of badge that I wear that distinguishes me as somebody special.  When I fail to pray,  I miserably lose sight of this badge.  It has happened to me many times, that there were times that I didn't even think I ever wore it.    And I am thankful, Lord, that you call constantly.  You really are the one that draws me to prayer.  I am weak and I oftentimes I fail, but you invite me always to step into the glorious halls of your presence.  Thank you.

(c) 2010 BRoME

© 2009 All rights reserved.

Make a free websiteWebnode