Sydney Australia Chapter

That's what friends are for - BRoME

17/01/2011 22:39

Thus the scripture was fulfilled that says, "Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness," and he was called "the friend of God."   James 2:23 (NAB)



I just watched in Youtube an interview with Marcos Witt, a pastor of Lakewood Church in Houston, Texas.  In this interview, he said:  'My mission is to help persons to know God in a very practical way and to be able to bring God to the practical daily dimension of our life perhaps outside a religious context rather more in a context of friendship with God.' [my translation **]


Somehow this has brought me to a realisation that for some while now I have been treating God more as the God above to be exalted, praised and exalted, worshipped and adored, a God to be pleased, a God who forgives, a God who provides, and so on.  I asked myself: Whatever happened to God being my friend, indeed, the best friend I can ever have?  This small statement from a pastor I much admire lit the fireworks in my heart and I basked there and then in Jesus'  friendly presence,  at the same time I felt this great repentance for having neglected this aspect of His that is most precious.  It was clearly a moment of enlightenment, of serious realisation.  And then all of a sudden the refrain of this song by Stevie Wonder crept up and echoed and repeated in my heart, during which moment I felt that Jesus himself was singing to me. [I don't know why it was this song;  it never had been one of my favourites.]



Keep smilin', keep shinin'
Knowin' you can always count on me, for sure
That's what friends are for
For good times and bad times
I'll be on your side forever more
That's what friends are for.

 

 

Copyright 2011 BRoME

** Mi mision es ayudar a las personas a conocer a Dios de una manera muy práctica y de como poder llevar a Dios al plano práctico y diario de nuestra vida fuera quizá de un contexto religioso mas en un contexto de una amistad con Dios.

 

 

© 2009 All rights reserved.

Make a free websiteWebnode